Hey there ladies and gentlemen of letters:

The EMU exec staff thinks it’d be cool for people to regularly post books that they love/are interested in to the blog, and I–Jaclyn Herr–am the first to share, WOO!

I decided to take the “book I’m currently interested in” route, so I’m going to talk about Brandwashed: Tricks Companies Use to Manipulate Our Minds and Persuade Us to Buy. I first heard about this book in my Lit Theory class while discussing Marxist criticism, and I really want to read it. I’m already pretty miserly as it stands, but I’m very intrigued by consumerism in America and the dependency we have on material items. It is a phenomena that I find equally fascinating and terrifying.

Here’s a link to the Amazon page where you can see more about the book, and maybe order a copy. (I don’t have one yet, so if you want to order two, you know, wink wink, Christmas is right around the corner).

But really, check it: http://www.amazon.com/Brandwashed-Tricks-Companies-Manipulate-Persuade/dp/0385531737

Leave a Reply

